Letter Twenty-Two from the Lovely Lady Lena

I have spent quite a lot of time in German hospitals and have come to the conclusion that I would like to live in one. They are like hotels. Patients even get picked up from their homes in Taxis and driven back as well. Free of charge! The rooms are designed like Hotel rooms as well, and don’t even get me started on the food! All you can eat, whenever you want, whatever you want. Sign me up for the next hospital trip! Fret not though, I haven’t been in the hospital for myself. Or for my companion. We just teach a lot of sick people and visit them. I think we should do finding in hospitals!
‘Just found out about a tumor? Let me tell you about God’s plan for you.’
This week we visited Frau G in the hospital. She really did find out about a new cancerous tumor, but she is all smiles! Seriously, she is the most optimistic person I have ever met. However, she hates smiling in pictures and I wanted to get her to flash that classic grin! We put the camera on self timer and right before the picture took I made my dolphin noise. That did just the trick! Except the camera captured it before I could also smile. Great. Frau G got quite a laugh out of that! And the best news is, she is home and ready to cook us up a storm tomorrow.
Now I must warn you, the following picture may induce heart attacks. We visit Sch.L for her birthday where she surprised us with a tea party. We were enjoying ourselves, eating Eierkuche, and sipping australian tropical tea. Sister Hansen and I had to leave to start walking to our next appointment but then Sch.L said she would drive us so we could stay longer. That is when she brought out 3 plates of open faced sandwiches. There was enough food to feed a Utah wedding party! We were told that her birthday wish was for us to eat all of it. No one else had come to visit her for her birthday even though she had made all this food. She then put on her sad grandma face until we ate. and ate. and ATE. We ate everything from pure pig fat spread to cow tongue. Sch. L ate one piece of bread. One piece! I thought Sister Hansen and I were going to go into a food coma during our next appointment. Somehow, though, it all worked out. Our bodies may hate us, but at least we made Sch. L happy!
In the end, that’s what a mission is all about. Making people happy. We bless their lives with the gospel and make them happy. We visit them in hospitals, and make them happy. We even eat giant amounts of food to make them happy. I love making people happy, hence I love being a missionary!
Enjoy the rest of these pictures! Sister Hansen and I took last p-day to work out, and work off our eating appointments! Enjoy the fanny pack. #tafeloriginal
Love,
Sister Helzer

posted by Splendidly Sar

No weights? No problem! #missionhacks

No weights? No problem! #missionhacks

DSC05284

I wanted to make Frau G smile when we visited her at the hospital so I made my dolphin noise but unfortunetaly the camera captured the photo sooner than I was expecting. At least she smiled!

I wanted to make Frau G smile when we visited her at the hospital so I made my dolphin noise but unfortunately the camera captured the photo sooner than I was expecting. At least she smiled!

Imagine having to eat a plate of these thickly butter breads and nasty fat spread sandwhiches. The things I do for love! I never want to eat butter again.

Imagine having to eat a plate of these thickly butter breads and nasty fat spread sandwiches. The things I do for love! I never want to eat butter again.

Took a p-day run through our backyard.

Took a p-day run through our backyard.

DSC05296

These things almost attacked us. Watch out...watch out.

These things almost attacked us. Watch out…watch out.

Tree yoga!

Tree yoga!

Another classic German rainbow. Aww so lovely.

Another classic German rainbow. Aww so lovely.

In germany there is a holiday celebrating the Reformation. Nothing says 'breaking away from the Cathlic church' than a Naked girl par-tay!

In germany there is a holiday celebrating the Reformation. Nothing says ‘breaking away from the Catholic church’ than a Naked girl par-tay!

Leave a comment